Tickets on Sale for the 50th Annual Western World Championships

Kevin Montgomery San Tan Valley, Ariz. (September 13, 2017) – As we race towards fall and the conclusion of the 2017 Championship season, race fans can look forward to the crisp cool fall evening’s in Arizona and the 50th running of the Western World Championships at Arizona Speedway. Tickets are now available for one of Arizona’s longest standing racing traditions featuring the greatest traditional Sprint Car drivers in the world.

Arizona Speedway will play host to the USAC National and CRA Sprint Cars with complete shows each night and winners taking home $5,000 on Friday and $7,500 on Saturday while the USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series will also take part in the festivities with a $3,000 winner’s check on both Friday and Saturday.

Two-day General Admission tickets for this historical event can be purchased for just $45, while reserved seating available for an additional $5 per night. Advanced tickets may be purchased online at: http://arizonaspeedway.net/tickets/

Hotel Information can be found at: https://www.countryinns.com/azspeedwayor by calling Country Inn and Suites at (480) 641-8000

Arizona Speedway would like to thank Interstate Truck Bodies, Interstate Wreck Rebuilders and Beaver Stripes and Molding for their support of the 50th running of the Western World Championships.

The long-standing tradition of sprint car racing in Arizona is synonymous with the Western World Championship’s and now the oldest race in Arizona history will take to Arizona’s newest race track. Arizona Speedway is set to host the 50th running of the Western World Championships Friday November 3rd and Saturday November 4th, 2017.

The 2017 Western World Championships will feature The Amsoil USAC National 410 Sprint Cars vs. USAC CRA 410 Sprint Cars along with USAC Southwest Sprint Cars. An open practice session will take place on Thursday evening, November 2 with racing action kicking off on Friday, November 3, at 7pm.

Chris Windom capitalized on his third consecutive USAC Amsoil National feature win to garner his first Western World title while Brady Bacon held of R.J. Johnson to win his third USAC Southwest Western World Crown.

Steve Kinser has claimed the most Western World titles with seven triumphs including wingless wins in 1982 and 1983 followed by winged wins in 1985, 1987, 1990, 1992 and 1996.
Ron Shuman is next on the list with five Western World triumphs, all of the wingless variety, with other drivers posting multiple Western World wins including Bryan Clauson (4), Donnie Schatz (3), Lealand McSpadden (3), Sammy Swindell (3), Brady Bacon (3), Bud Kaeding (2), Mark Kinser (2) and Jan Opperman (2).

Past Western World Championship Winners (Wing /Non-Wing/Midget)

2016 – Chris Windom (410) Brady Bacon (360)
2015 – Bryan Clauson (410) Brody Roa (360)
2014 – Matt Rossi (nw) Darren Hagen (midget)
2013 – Bryan Clauson (nw/midget)
2012 – Wayne Johnson (w) Bryan Clauson (nw)
2011 – Donny Schatz(w) Tracy Hines (nw)
2010 – Donny Schatz(w) Brady Bacon (nw)
2009 – Sammy Swindell(w) Brady Bacon (nw)
2008 – Kevin Swindell (nw)
2007 – Jerry Coons, Jr. (nw)
2006 – Josh Wise (nw)
2005 – Dave Darland (nw)
2004 – Bud Kaeding (nw)
2003 – Tony Elliott (nw)
2002 – Bud Kaeding (nw)
2001 – Jeremy Sherman (nw)
2000 – Jay Drake (nw)
1999 – Donny Schatz (w)
1998 – Tyler Walker (w)
1997 – Mark Kinser (w)
1996 – Steve Kinser (w)
1995 – Lealand McSpadden (nw)
1994 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1993 – Lealand McSpadden (nw)
1992 – Steve Kinser (w)
1991 – Danny Lasoski (w)
1990 – Steve Kinser (w)
1989 – Sammy Swindell (w)
1988 – Mark Kinser (w)
1987 – Steve Kinser (w)

1986 – Bobby Davis, Jr. (w)
1985 – Steve Kinser (w)
1984 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1983 – Steve Kinser (nw)
1982 – Steve Kinser (nw)
1981 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1980 – Sammy Swindell (nw)
1979 – Tim Green (nw)
1978 – Lealand McSpadden (nw)
1977 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1976 – Bubby Jones (nw)
1975 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1974 – Rick Ferkel (nw)
1973 – Earl Wagner (nw)
1972 – Jan Opperman (nw)
1971 – Jan Opperman (nw)
1970 – Jerry McClung (nw)
1969 – Bob Huebner (nw)
1968 – Bob Cleberg (nw)